2020 BIAZA Awards: Celebrating Excellence
Sarah Blake

2020 BIAZA Awards

Members are now invited to submit their entries for the 2020 BIAZA Awards!
The BIAZA Awards provide an opportunity for you to have your achievements recognised within the zoo and aquarium community. Incorporating a range of categories you have the chance to achieve a bronze, silver or gold certificate and demonstrate BIAZA best practice and excellence in your field of work.  BIAZA members including associate members are invited to submit award applications in the following categories:

1. Animal Husbandry, Care and Breeding
2. Behaviour and Welfare
3. Education
4. Exhibits
5.Field Conservation
6. Horticulture
7. PR, Marketing, Digital and Events
8. Professional Capacity Building
9. Research
10. Sustainability

Please ensure you read the application instructions and the submission form guidance before applying. You can view an example completed entry form which won Gold here.

Submissions must be sent to arrive at the BIAZA office no later then 5pm Sunday 01 March 2020. Anyone successful in achieving a highly coveted gold certificate will have their certificate presented at the Gala Dinner of the June 2020 Annual Conference at Dublin Zoo. The event provides an opportunity for you to showcase your work, and receive well-deserved recognition and congratulations!

Rising star, outstanding achievement and collaborative zoo or aquarium


In addition to the categories listed above, three further certificates will also be presented:

Rising Star” award – this recognises the efforts of an individual who has gone above and beyond to support their collection and the BIAZA community.

Outstanding Achievement” award - this recognises the extraordinary long-term contributions of individual members. 

Collaborative Zoo or Aquarium” award - presented to the collection who has demonstrated maximum participation in BIAZA activities.  This category is only open to full and provisional members. 

Award submission

Please ensure you read the application instructions for each category carefully before applying.

To download the appropriate application form please click on the relevant category listed above.

There is also a submission form guidance document to guide you through the application form. 

Submissions must be sent to the BIAZA office before 5pm Sunday 01 March 2020

Examples of previous award winner submissions
Mark Eastment


Below you will find examples of submissions of previous BIAZA award winners which you can use as best practice references for completing the application forms. 

Animal Husbandry, Care and Breeding Gold Award Winner - ZSL
Conservation Gold Award Winner - Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust
Education Gold Award Winner - National Marine Aquarium
Research Gold Award Winner - WWT Slimbridge